Guild of Maintainers Forum

It is currently 21 Mar 2019, 09:05 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Chamassa
PostPosted: 19 Jan 2011, 05:15 pm 
Offline
Guild Member
User avatar
Send private message  Profile

Joined: 28 Feb 2009, 11:43 am
Posts: 151
KI Number: 777796
Alternate Avie: Jayden Halliwell (IC Explorer) - 54404
Well tell me how to do that cause I did cntl-A in Blender on the cove and islands and then exported again from Blender. It still continues to look like what's in that image.


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: Chamassa
PostPosted: 19 Jan 2011, 05:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar
Send private message  Profile

Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 05:45 am
Posts: 2077
KI Number: 37681
Alternate Avie: Andy Legate ....... uhm.......
Okay here is my tutorial on going from Blender to Max, you can review it.

http://dusty.homeunix.net/wiki/Importin ... cts_To_Max

While you are doing that, since I have your Blend files, I do it and see what happens.

_________________
Find Me On Facebook
OSCAR
Image

My Navy Brag Page


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: Chamassa
PostPosted: 19 Jan 2011, 06:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar
Send private message  Profile

Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 05:45 am
Posts: 2077
KI Number: 37681
Alternate Avie: Andy Legate ....... uhm.......
Okay, I imported that island with no problems (I even left the scaling in Blender alone). When I had it in Max, it was big. well over 300 feet across.

So let me recap here how to export from Blender and import to Max.

If you follow my tutorial and use the FBX method (which I really recommend), you export your selected objects from Blender in fbx format.

You use the FBX converter to convert to the correct version that Max will understand.

Then in Max you click on File > Import and go to the V5 folder and select your fbx file.

You'll have a large window pop up. The only thing you should do in that window is click on the drop down menu where it says "Convert To" and make sure you select "No Conversion". Then click on the Okay button.

That's all I did and it imported and looked fine for me.

_________________
Find Me On Facebook
OSCAR
Image

My Navy Brag Page


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: Chamassa
PostPosted: 19 Jan 2011, 09:10 pm 
Offline
Guild Member
User avatar
Send private message  Profile

Joined: 28 Feb 2009, 11:43 am
Posts: 151
KI Number: 777796
Alternate Avie: Jayden Halliwell (IC Explorer) - 54404
It imports and looks fine to me in MAX. In URU it looks like it does.

Here is what I did. I took a look at your tutorial again, I did noticed the no conversion thing I think I missed that before.

I followed it to the letter as best as I can tell. Imported it into Max did the materials, set page info, etc. And then did plasma export. In Uru I can tell the textures are off alot. If you look at the mountain gorge texture and then look at the picture on the previous page you can tell a big difference.

Edit: I am thinking of importing it from the original obj file that was exported from Bryce (well the cove anyways the island from the last release is not from Bryce) and seeing what difference that might make. Maybe even doing a new Island in Bryce if the Cove imports correctly.


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: Chamassa
PostPosted: 20 Jan 2011, 09:24 am 
Offline
Guild Member
User avatar
Send private message  Profile

Joined: 28 Feb 2009, 11:43 am
Posts: 151
KI Number: 777796
Alternate Avie: Jayden Halliwell (IC Explorer) - 54404
Importing the original obj file (one exported from Bryce) didn't solve the problem. I did figure out though how to adjust the scale of the texture (Max calls it tiling). Now I just have to adjust it till it looks right in Uru.


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: Chamassa
PostPosted: 20 Jan 2011, 05:52 pm 
Offline
Guild Member
User avatar
Send private message  Profile

Joined: 28 Feb 2009, 11:43 am
Posts: 151
KI Number: 777796
Alternate Avie: Jayden Halliwell (IC Explorer) - 54404
K ran up on a new problem.

trimesh creation failed for physical library_walls

I imported the library and set the materials and everything and went to export and it gave that error.

What does that mean and how can it be fixed?


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: Chamassa
PostPosted: 20 Jan 2011, 06:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar
Send private message  Profile

Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 05:45 am
Posts: 2077
KI Number: 37681
Alternate Avie: Andy Legate ....... uhm.......
I'm not sure on that one. Never ran across it before......

_________________
Find Me On Facebook
OSCAR
Image

My Navy Brag Page


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: Chamassa
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2011, 01:50 pm 
Offline
Guild Member
User avatar
Send private message  Profile

Joined: 28 Feb 2009, 11:43 am
Posts: 151
KI Number: 777796
Alternate Avie: Jayden Halliwell (IC Explorer) - 54404
I thought you all might like to see how far I have gotten in importing from Blender into Max. So here is the exported age so far.

http://phantasmproject.com/downloads/Chamassa_Max.rar

First off if you already have Chamassa installed through Drizzle you should make a back up as this will overwrite it. Secondly I know that when you link in your facing the wall. I have yet to turn the dummy around so its facing the correct way. Third you will need flymode, I have yet to add water. So there is a big gaping black hole where you would likely fall forever if you run off the edge of the world. :lol: Fourth I would like your opinions of it so far.


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: Chamassa
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2011, 02:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar
Send private message  Profile

Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 05:45 am
Posts: 2077
KI Number: 37681
Alternate Avie: Andy Legate ....... uhm.......
Cool! I'm headed to the shower so I'll check it out after I'm done.

_________________
Find Me On Facebook
OSCAR
Image

My Navy Brag Page


Top
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group  
Myst and Uru are © of Cyan Worlds Inc. All rights reserved.
Images from Myst Online: Uru Live are used by permission of Cyan Worlds.